kids of all kinds

Sunrise FFO - Aug 2018 Digest Vol 4, Issue #1

Sunrise Drive Family and Faculty Org header

Hello [First_Name]!

Please join us for the first FFO meeting of the year in the Library, this Friday August 31 at 8:05 a.m.!

The FFO organizes, operates, and communicates to all families and faculty the many Sunrise, CFSD, and community programs and events. We also generate funding to support the vibrant learning environment and our programs and events.

All FFO Meeting Agendas & Minutes are available for public review in our online archive. 

 Spirit of Sunrise

"Donate" icon

The Spirit of Sunrise (SOS) is the school’s annual fundraising campaign to support Sunrise Drive FFO, a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. Funds provide grants for all student field trips, Science Day, Artists-in-Residence, community garden, 5th Grade Legacy Project, Spelling Bee, Lego robotics kits, Raz Kids, Reflex Math, playground equipment, Spiders and Cider, grant requests, library books, and much more. The entire FFO budget comes from direct donations and we need your help! 

Donate to SOS now by clicking your custom link to our online store below or dropping a check payable to “Sunrise Drive FFO” in the FFO lock box in the Sunrise Office. The suggested donation is $50/student, but any amount is appreciated. All donations are tax deductible. Individuals who donate $250 or more receive a letter for tax reporting. Thank you for your donations!!

[Store_Button]

– Deborah Ardolino, VP of Development

Grants at Work!

Each year, family and faculty work together to disburse grants to meet students’ educational needs through programs like field trips, artists-in-residence, guest authors, and the Sunrise Garden.

Teachers, staff, family members and students may submit grant proposals to the Grants Chair for review by the FFO Executive Board. Executive-approved proposals are discussed and voted on at General FFO Meetings. Visit sunriseffo.org/grants or email grants@sunriseffo.org for info.

Approved Grants

  • None

Proposed Grants

  • Small Dolly for Hauling T-shirts to School Events, $100, General Funds
  • Yoga Foster for Recess Yoga, $199, General Funds

– Margaret Barber, Grants Chair

Chinese Immersion

Welcome back Immersion Families!

2018-2019 Chinese Immersion Liaison Contacts

FFO Executive Chinese Immersion Liaison: Anita McGuire, alchapin@hotmail.com
Kindergarten:  Eva Reyerson, eva.reyerson@gmail.com
Grade 1: Nadya Novak, nadyanovak22@gmail.com
Grade 2: Jennie Jacob, jljpt2003@yahoo.com
Grade 3: Margaret Barber, kandmbarber@msn.com
Grade 4: Teresa Sommers, tsommers@cfsd16.org
Grade 5: Rita Stubbs & Maria Johnson, charitajstubbs@gmail.com

Chinese Immersion Teachers

Kindergarten: Nicole Prickett, nprickett@cfsd16.org & Lucy Lin, llin@cfsd16.org
Grade 1: Brittany Eggert, beggert@cfsd16.org & Kiki Yu, kyu@cfsd16.org
Grade 2: Maura Baker, mbaker@cfsd16.org & Tieyan Gonzalez, tgonzalez@cfsd16.org
Grade 3: Katherine Sizemore, ksizemore@cfsd16.org & Annie Zhang, tzhang@cfsd16.org
Grade 4: Sabrina Beyer, sbeyer@cfsd16.org & Kai Chen, kchen@cfsd16.org
Grade 5: Teresa Sommers, tsommers@cfsd16.org & Hui Zhou, hzhou@cfsd16.org
Chinese Language & Culture, Ning He, nhe@cfsd16.org

– Anita McGuire, Chinese Immersion

Mark Your Calendar for Upcoming Events!

August 31: FFO Meeting

September 12: Volunteer Opportunity for Fall Picture Day

September 24-28: Book Fair

September 27: School Picnic

October 26: Spiders and Cider

For a full calendar of events, log into MySchoolAnywhere to see the calendar on the home page!

 Send us First Day of School Pictures!

yearbook_thumbnail previewCalling all First Day of School photos for the yearbook! Submit your photos by Monday, September 3 at sunriseffo.org/yearbook. The Yearbook Staff thanks you for your submissions!

— Sabrina Romero & Marla Harris, Yearbook Co-chairs

Volunteer for Fall Picture Day

What: Fall Picture Day

When: September 12, 8:00-11:30 A.M.

Why: All volunteers receive FREE school pictures for their students!

How: Click your personal MSA link below to volunteer:

[Signups_Button]

— Bianca Rowley

Book Fair

When: Monday, September 24 to Thursday, September 28

  • Before school (accompanied by adult)
  • After school
  • During lunch recess
  • During the Family Picnic and Play on September 27th

Where: School Library

Why: Sunrise Drive receives at least 55% in book profits from the sales. 

How: Volunteers make it possible! No experience necessary. Click your custom MySchoolAnywhere link below to volunteer. 

[Signups_Button]

Can’t make it to the Book Fair? Purchase books at the “Online Book Fair” or share the link with relatives and friends. No shipping and Sunrise still gets book credit!

— Trisha Adcock and Lori Cole

School Picnic

When: Thursday, September 27, 5:30-7:00 P.M.

Who: Sunrise students and their families of all ages

Where: Sunrise Drive Elementary School Playground

Note: Playground supervision is parents’ responsibility. Event ends promptly at 7:00 P.M.

COME PLAY! Join friends, both old and new, to play, enjoy a picnic dinner at school, and shop at the book fair.

 Amy Courson

Spiders and Cider

When: Friday, October 26, 5:00-8:00 P.M.

Where: Sunrise Drive Elementary

Why: Celebrate the season at this annual FFO event! Bring the whole family for carnival games, face painters, balloon twisters, raffle, maze, cake walk, Photo Booth, and DJ. 

How: Wearing your Halloween costumes!

For more info, visit sunriseffo.org/spiders. Stay tuned for online ticket sales. When you pre-order tickers, your student will get a fabulous grab bag at the door!  

Volunteering is a great way to meet other families. Your student will think it’s so cool that you helped decorate! Click your custom MySchoolAnywhere link below to volunteer:

[Signups_Button]

—Alli Swanson, Jeannette Hartshorne, Rachel Hollander, Spiders and Cider Chairs